The Division of Family Health (DFH) under the department of Preventive and Promotive health in the Ministry of health Kenya was established in 2008 due to the felt need of enhancing the coordination of Reproductive, Maternal, Newborn, Child and Adolescent health and Nutrition programs for more efficient and effective service delivery in the Country.

The Division is in charge of programs that are geared towards the reduction of child mortality and reduction of maternal mortality. It plays a big role in the implementation of SDGs 3 and 5 on Reducing of the common killers associated with child and maternal mortality and eliminating hunger through the nutrition program.

The overall mandate and goal of the division is to:

To coordinate, formulate, develop, disseminate and advocate for policies standards and guidelines on Reproductive, Maternal Newborn, child, adolescent health and Nutrition (RMNCAH/N) in the country.
To promote and protect all in Kenya from preventable causes of ill health in the areas of Maternal and Child health.
To create an enabling environment for provision of RMNCAH/N health interventions by public, private and faith-based providers.
To build capacity of the counties/National programs in the areas of Reproductive, Maternal, Newborn, Child and Adolescent Health, Nutrition and Immunization in order to effectively deliver services.
To develop of an integrated Monitoring and Evaluation system for RMNCAH/N.
To coordinate partners that support and implement RMNCAH/N activities and programs in the country.
To develop logistics systems that ensure timely, availability of quality essential live saving commodities of National priority.
To Resource mobilize for Maternal and Child health and Nutrition programs.
To Coordinate operational research in the area of RMNCAH/N

The Division is located on the KNH grounds along old Mbagathi road and consists of 6 technical units namely;

Reproductive, Maternal health services unit (RHMSU)
Neonatal Child and Adolescent Health unit (NCAHU)
Nutrition and dietetic unit (NDU)
National vaccines and Immunization unit (NVIP)
Health promotion Unit (HPU)
Community health services unit (CHSU)

The support units consist of;

Human Resource Management